The Wizard of Oz

by L Frank Baum
Adapted by Frank Gabrielson
Music and lyrics by Harold Arlen and E Y Harburg


Tower Theatre, Canonbury
July 6th - 20th, 1985

Cast List

Aunt Em : Chris Mallett
Uncle Henry : Colin Ley
Dorothy Gale : Sandra Street
Pete, a farmhand : Peta Barker
Joe, a farmhand : Martin South
Frank, a farmhand : Gerry Schilling
Zeke, a farmhand : Chris Gregory
Miss Gulch, a schoolteacher : Judy Carter
Mayor of Munchkin City : Robert Dorney
Coroner : Peta Barker
Sorceress of the North : Chris Mallett
Wicked Witch of the West : Judy Carter
The Lullaby League : Gemma Dorney, Alice Batty
The Lollipop Guild : John Dorney
Strawman : Martin South
Trees : Dave Bigg, Ken Haines
Tin Woodsman : Gerry Schilling
Cowardly Lion : Chris Gregory
Doorman of the Emerald City : Lee Collins
Gloria : Janet Esterson

Alexis : Suzanne Dorney
Crystle : Jackie Everett
Friends of the Wicked Witch

Tibia, a ghoul : Alan Smith
Ozmas : Peta Barker
The Wizard of Oz : Colin Ley
Munchkins, Ozians & Jitterbugs : Janet Esterson, Peta Barker, Robert Dorney, Suzanne Dorney, Gemma Dorney, John Dorney, Jackie Everett, Gail Littlewood, Penny Aston, Maria Davies, Moo Syedain, Felicity Cox, Alice Batty

The Band : Alan Colebourne and his Kansas City Stompers
Music arranged and conducted from the piano by Alan Colebourn
Dominic Batty (violin)
Richard Willis (trumpet)
Nigel Sanctuary (drums)
Martin South (guitar)
Peta Barker (bass guitar)
Angus Macauley (clarinet)
Alison Harvey (french horn)
Sandra Street, Janet Tomkins (flutes)

The Wizard of Oz


The Wizard of Oz

Production Team

Director : John Field
Musical Director : Alan Colebourne
Set Design : Sharon Hayward
Sound and Lighting Design : Stephen Ley
Costume Design : Phyl Lee
Choreographer : Jackie West
Puppet Design : Ken Haines
Video and music recording : Stephen Ley

Stage manager : Georgina Willerton
ASMs : Karen Haig, Julie Monkhouse, Louise Cole, Jane Ely, Kathy McGuinness
Sound operator : John Christie
Lighting operator : Sarah Ambrose
Lighting assistants : Chris Seal, Rob Hookway, Ernie Saill, Dennis Elam
Wardrobe : Sue Gardner
Lion Costume : Eve Gregory
Tin Woodsman costume : Gerry Schilling
Puppeteers : Celia Reynolds, Liz Brown, Dave Bigg, Penny Swann, Ken Haines
Set construction : Richard Bealing, Peter Edwards, Jo Kennedy, Tony Shoulders, Rob Hookway, Jonathan Lermit, John Holmes, Richard Willis, The Pink Stuff Boys, Dominic Turner, Denis Turner & members of the cast and crew